Today is called Motivating Monday

Today is the day! Today is my first day of School Experience Programme. What day is today? Today is Monday! How do you perceive this day? DJ JJ and Rudy from 92.90hertz (If only you were living in the Hell of K) would say Monday Blue? Dear my friends, let’s change our mindset and called it MOTIVATING Monday? For the first day, my ‘girlfriends’ and I just went suck the humid air of the friendly-environment school. Examination was going on. Anyone who farted could even be heard by mosquitoes. What we were doing then? Chit-chatting meaningfully, girls were gossiping and keep mourning the word: boring, disturbing and honing my national language with other teacher in the staffroom, reading like a geek, shopping at the school. Task A left 80% and we just have to ask, smile, and communicate! Today is quite tiring. We signed off at 4.30pm because we took part in in-service Training. I could see vividly how the course Personal Leadership and School Management applied for the first day. In-service Training is one of the ways to enhance teachers’ professionalism. Scroll down a bit then you can read some details that I managed to jot down during the in-service Training……

Name of the Programme: Peranan Guru Sebagai Pendidik
(Kecemerlangan diri and organisasi)
Date: 25.5. 2009
Time: 2pm-4pm ( best time for taking my siesta)
Venue: Makmal Bestari

Random notes that I managed to jot down:

“Only Dead fishes swim with the flow of water.” How about living fishes? What does it mean? Can anyone of you tell me? Then he talked about self-actualization. Self actualization is the process of striving to actualize one’s potential capacity, abilities, and talents. One must do what he or she can do. How to reach this higher level of Maslow’s theory? Firstly, we need to vary our lifestyles. My own example would be dancing while jogging? Secondly, we need to have goal! Without a goal is like a hunter holding a gun and no idea where to shoot the flying bird. Great people are really ordinary people who commit themselves to extraordinary goals. Then he talked about some criterions of workers that needed in the job market in the future based on research done by Harvard University. The criterions are high cognitive thinking skills, critical thinking, good communication skills, good problem solving skills, espirit de corps, eager to learn new things, and possess high intrinsic motivation. Open your hearts, open your mind, you would not easily open your clothes! Then come to conclusion which is the best part I like! Study from University of Massachusetts has shown that people say, ‘I love my work’ would hardly get heart diseases. Instantly after that I said it to myself, ‘I love my work!’ (1000 times). Yeah, I won’t get heart diseases anymore. Do you enjoy your work? If not then find a way to quit or else say it insincerely ‘I love my work?’ Overall I enjoyed 2 hours free motivation talk. With his cool sense of humour, he managed to talk 2 hours without saying to us, ‘okay ladies and gentlemen, now you can take 5!’ because today is called motivating Monday!

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on May 25, 2009, in Special events. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I believe that having a stressful or depressing work increases the risk of getting heart diseases. And I believe that happiness has a positive influence on our lifespan. I wish everyone was happy with their work, therefore that is my wish for you, my future teacher friend!

  2. I found aleecheekhong.blog.friendster.com very informative. The article is professionally written and I feel like the author knows the subject very well. aleecheekhong.blog.friendster.com keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

