Tux paint, creativity at every click

 

 

Of all the ICT tools listed (Domoanimate, Glogster, Sketchfu, Kerpoof, Tuxpaint, Myths and Legends, SuperHeroSquad, Hero, Yoyogames, ZimmerTwins, and Toondoo), I have chosen Tux paint.(Cinta pandang pertama-ba) Tested and I gave this tool 4 shining stars. Today is only the fifth day of Chinese New Year, but all of us are already back to University. Class begins on the fifth day of the day I supposed to hang out with my ex-classmates and play lap lap fu. Anyway, I could say I am fortunate because like few of my friends in overseas have not back for annual reunion dinner with family for almost 5 years. So I shall be thankful. Back to the topic, I would like to make a review of the ICT tool that I have tested for about 2 hours. As you can see from the image above, the left side is the model for me to ‘copy cat’ using none other than Tux paint- creativity at every click to produce my own version.

Let’s first look at the functions of the tool. Before I explain, I would like to tell you that Tux is a penguin character that you can see from my production. When penguin combine with the word, ‘paint’, it becomes a free drawing platform for young children. It has a simple, easy-to-use interface, fun sound effects, and an encouraging cartoon mascot who helps guide children as they use the tool. It provides a blank canvas and a variety of drawing tools to help children be creative. One of my forum friends actually had long installed the tool in her family computers for her home-schooled kids. According to her, it’s a great operating system! It’s fast, easy to use, and runs on all open-source (i.e. free) software. The kids can’t get enough of Tux paint! I regret to only discover this tool now. If not I can install this program in my home PC, so that it helps me to entertain my cousin’s kids during Chinese New Year open house happened 2 days ago instead of letting them roaming around the house and crying.

Good is opposite of bad. Beautiful is the opposite of ugly. Nothing is perfect except God. If not I would give this tool 100 shining stars. As I tested the tool for about 2 hours, there are some limitations that I encounter. First thing is the sound effect. Before you can use the tool, you will come across with Tux paint Config. So I was happy to see there was a feature of sound effect. I enabled the sound effect. I thought as I do my painting, I would accompany by music like Beethoven. It turned out the sound effect was quite irritating. When I click erase, I could hear the sound of a barking dog. (Woof woof, woof woof) It would be better if it sounds like this : give you ang pao, give you ang pao when I click erase. Another drawback of this tool is there is no other theme of the fonts like Algerian, Rockwell, or Verdana. I guess the reason is due to the nature of this tool which is targeted to the kids. The next limitation that I encounter is you cannot save the drawing as jpeg format. So you can only open the saved file from the program itself. That’s all the limitations that I encountered.

When can this tool be used? You can use this tool as long as you have free time. This tool can relax your mind and mobilize your right brain during leisure time. I remembered when I was in Year 3, I participated an inter-school colouring competition. So all of us about 100 over participants were given A3 paper to colour, the effect is no wonder the earth is getting hotter and hotter now.  Heard of global warming and cutting down trees?(Padahal kesejukan sepanjang bulan Januari-ba Freezing) This tool is so eco-friendly and it can be used for cultivating talent of creative drawing and colouring competition in order to save trees. Human need oxygen to survive. If this tool was really can be used for the drawing competition to cultivate creativity skill among the kids, I doubt about its practicality due to the fact that all the participants must be provided by a laptop.

In terms of the user friendliness from the teacher point of view, I would say that the kids will insanely addicted to it. The toolbar of this programs are easy to use and I believe kids will master it very quickly. One of the user comments that I select said: “I just had to tell you that our daughter is absolutely in love with Tux Paint. I know I told you that, but it’s freaking me out that she is only 3 and can operate it all on her own. She knows how to change the background, change stamps, go from one brush type to another and change colors – she learned how to use it so quickly!” – Patti M., Sacramento, California, USA Walaowei, only 3-year-old can operate? Amazed. What a shame if you cannot use this tool at the age of 20 something? So I would say that this tool is very suitable for primary school kids from Year 1 to Year 6. Perhaps for lower primary (Year 1 to 3), it would be better the kids are guided by parents or teacher, so that they wont simply click and cause damaged to computer. You heard of phrase ‘Every home has a computer?’ I will add on to that : Every computer MUST have a Tux paint, creativity at every click. Before I can’t get enough of Tux paint, there is also a tool called Tux Maths. I will explore that when I got free time. For now, it’s time for me to eat mandarin orange.

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on February 7, 2011, in My ICT Diary Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. cool…
    TUXPAINT is an interesting tool..

  2. I did try the tux paint but i din really find it that interesting compared to others, bee. But after reading your blog, i do realise that the tux paint must be really good and user friendly that even a three year old kid can manage the tool well. Thats really awesome!wish to use the tool sometime in future=)

Leave a Reply

