Millionaire? Learn and Question

 

 

My ‘giant’ apologise if you are here either to  get some tips on how to be a millionaire, or how to reach financial freedom, get out of debt, save, and invest, but I generously can lend my ears for you to share how you spend your money. In this entry, I would like to actually ponder what I have learnt and questioned in my 7th week of my ICT class. Gotcha. My final semester now is fast approaching to the end. 7th week to go. Do you feel the same? If you say ‘No’, I think you don’t want to be a millionaire.

When I was first stumbled on the task given, ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire’, the melody of the movie ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ straight away injected and playing into my head. I watched it twice. From the movie I think about how to earn more money. I think about going out to work instead of contributing my ideas on how we as a group is to adapt and integrate the game to be more kids-appeal in the classroom. Then again I asked this question ‘Can teachers be millionaires too?’ My answer for you is YES depending on how you are to define it. Therefore my sincere apologize to my group members here for not giving my full focus in this task. (fikiran malayang-layang ba). In the world of exercise and fitness, we came out with the theme ‘Vegetable and fruits’. Congrats to one of my members came out with the riddle-form of questions in order to challenge pupils’ mind. Our group then has decided to finally put Year 4 pupils as for the target ‘Guinea pigs’. The whole process of game modification I realized is same as if you want to be a millionaire. Not easy, but is possible.

Next was during the presentation in the class. I was very convinced actually how the game ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire’ can be used in the classroom through watching all the group presentations. I would say that the success of this kind of game in the classroom very much depends on the creative modification which suited with the pupils’ level. I also noticed that all the groups came up with not only different, but also catchy title of the game such as ‘Who wants to be a pirate-aire? (the most creative and interesting presentation), ‘Who wants to be a star?’ (That’s my group! Ku-bangga ba), and so on. However, the stumbling block for me throughout the presentation I guess was the feedback part. I felt very hard to give my feedback spontaneously once the group finished their presentations. Personally, I need more time to process my thought so that my feedback will be more constructive rather than ‘Good-job-type’ of feedback. During the presentation, I questioned ‘How my friends could give feedback so fast in constructive manner? Do they eat raisins or what? (List Good things and things which need to be improved on) For those of my friends did that, thumbs-up from me. Besides, I also questioned whether we can be given more time to give feedback? Again I am blaming the time. Mirroring my own weaknesses, perhaps I am too lazy, sleepy and losing focus when comes to feedback session during the class. Anyway, on behalf of Group 4, I would like to say thanks for your feedback. All the feedback given were very encouraging and valuable to us.

Looking at the other side of coin with regards to giving feedback, the session is actually developing myself to be a critical as well as fast thinker in giving feedback. I could foresee myself in the future would be selected to be a judge for maybe story-telling competition or singing competition in at least school level? That is the time when I apply whatever knowledge that I been equipped with to say no more no less ,with full impact. I hope my pupils wont get hurt by my feedback.Always prepared sweets in my pocket. Back to this game ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire’, I think through the proper modification and adaptation, it can be applied to not only subject like English, but also in Science, Mathematics, and Bahasa Malaysia. Besides using the concept in the classroom, teachers can also use it as one of the activities during English week or language camp held in the school. In short, the game ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire’ is very flexible.  Awesome! Last but not least, my two cents of thought on money.


Money itself is not an evil, but the love of money is the root of all evil.

Money is not everything. Yes, we need it to survive. Therefore, spend your

money wisely, not unnecessarily. Earn money in a right way as well.

(Bukan secara HARAM, nanti KARAM diakhir hayat-ba)

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on February 25, 2011, in My ICT Diary Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I always enjoy reading your entry Aaron! You always make me laugh!! Well, I agree with you on the part of being critical in comments and things like that. Good thing you’re picturing yourself in the future, in reality, where you might be chosen to become a judge for a competition or sth!! Well, good job, keep it up!

    • Thanks for your compliment Choo, my neighbour! Haha..If what I picture will become true one day, that would be super good thing for me.

  2. Wow..another great piece of thought from you Aaron!Well done!By the way Aaron, not only you but i also was amazed with some of our friends who were able to give such constructive and practical feedbacks to the groups almost instantaneously.(Awesome right?)haha..anyway,like u said yessss this feedback session is actually moulding us to be more critical and a fast thinker oh ya not to forget as a divergent thinker too in giving feedbacks..Well,receiving feedbacks too definitely brings about loads of benefits..don’t you think so?

    • Thanks Priyatharisini for dropping by. I agree with you. You seem very enjoy receiving feedback from others. Not many people like you are very open to feedback though, some of them cant accept criticism and think that they are smart already. Agree?

Leave a Reply

