Personalised Learning is different from Learning Personally

In the area of education and psychology, you will probably come across a lot of theories. To just name a few, you have cognitive, vygotsky, gardner, and yada yada bla bla bla. But I would still conclude that Behaviourism is the mother of all learning theories. For this week, I have learnt new theory called PERSONALISED LEARNING (PL). Through online chit-chat berak-borak session in the class, it helped me to increase my understanding on PL. At that moment, I asked, ‘Why there are so many learning theories?’

The next day, the answer came to me through Mr. Gomez’s class. He told us that the reason why there are so many learning theories is there is no best way to learn language. At the end, it will up to us as future ‘planter’ to decide how you are going to take good care of your ‘seeds’. Thanks also to Ms. Ng for rectifying that PL from Communities of Practice, then from there is actually derived from Constructivist. If I am ambitious someday somewhere over the rainbow, I want to create my learning theory called? (Sorry, ku sedang mimpi-ba)

Below are tips on how you can PL via technology with your pupils. Let me just call the tips below, 9 of them altogether as SEEDS.

1. Deliver instruction through multiple forms of media

2. Gather and use immediate feedback on students’ understanding

3. Give students options

4. Practice independent work skills

5. Create a weekly “must-do” and “may do” list

6. Pre-test students’ knowledge before each unit

7. Be flexible when plans go awry

8. Let students drive

9. Share the work of creating differentiated lessons

And now I present to you my sample of PL lesson:

Topic: Alien and you

Target Learners:   Year 5 (Advanced Proficiency)

Lesson Objectives: By the end of the lesson, pupils shall be able to draw the alien that described by Stephen Chow and complete the letter by their own creative imaginations.

Lead-in stage: Teacher starts the lesson by telling an invented plus humorous story by showing picture (Seed 1) to lower down pupils’s affective filter.

 

 

 

 

Hi kids, do you have pets at home? Yes? No?(Seed 6) Let me tell you something about my pet. Last month I bought a dog from a pet shop. At first he has got no name. Then I name my dog, ‘Birdy’. Do you know why? Because he likes to catch bird. When I came back from travelling one day, I felt flabbergasted and curious upon seeing tremendous changes happened to my Birdy. Usually Birdy will bark at me, but now he is chirping at me instead. I don’t know why my dog turned into like eagle dog. I am sick and bored with birdy since he doesn’t know how to bark anymore. Does anyone of you here want to rear Birdy? (Seed 2)

Talk to your friend next to you what would you feel if you met Birdy?

Talk to your friend whether you have seen strange things in your life?

Activity stage: Teacher asks pupils to form 5 groups and let them choose their own members. (Seed 3)

1. Teacher divides the class into 5 groups. Each group consists of 5 pupils.

2. After that, teacher tells pupils that he found an envelope in the street yesterday.Then he shows it to the pupils and tells them there is a letter inside the envelope.

3. Teacher asks pupils to log on to this website (chosen tool)

 

 

 

4. Teacher then explains step-by-step how to use the tool. Teacher only proceeds after pupils know how to use the tool. (Seed 4)

5. Teacher then shows the letter to the class using PowerPoint presentation. Below is the text that teacher puts up on presentation:

I have just seen a very strange little creature in the street outside. He has got a small round baby face wearing short pants. He has got a Trojan-type of hair. He has got two green round eyes. He has two little polar bear ears. He doesn’t have a mouth, but his nose is very long like an elephant. He has a beautiful peacock male tail. He has two octopus arms and two giant tree frog legs. He is flying towards me now. I think he is going to climb through my………….

By Stephen Chow

6. Teacher shows only first and last sentence of text (highlighted) and asks pupils to

read. Teacher asks pupils:

What do you think the creature is?

Why isn’t the letter finished? What happened?

7. Teacher tells pupils to listen to him carefully as he will read the whole letter.

8. Teacher reads the second time and ask pupils in group to draw the alien using the tool

The creature should look something like this:

 

 

9. Teacher asks for a volunteer from each group to come in front and draw their alien on the board. Teacher gets the rest of the class to help and correct if necessary. (Seed 7)

Follow-up stage: Teacher then asks each and every pupil to go back home (Seed 5) and create their own imaginative alien using the tool. Teacher asks them to finish up the letter and asks them to share (Seed 9) in the class for the next lesson.

At the end of the lesson, teacher can discuss the movie ‘CJ7’ in the class. If I were to implement this lesson someday, I will tell my pupils the insight from the movie CJ7. And what not to better educate them, ‘Hey kids, wake-up wake up! There is no alien in this world. So don’t ever think to ask ‘alien’ to help you excel in your exam.’

Anything wrong with my lesson? Questions and comments are highly appreciated as it will lead me to better understanding on this brand new learning theory.

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on March 4, 2011, in My ICT Diary Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. hi Aaron..a very detailed and well integrated lesson you have there! :)Good Job! I like the fact that you allow classroom learning to not just stop after the lesson is over by asking pupils to go back home, use the tool and come up with their own imaginative alien..i feel that it allows learning to take place beyond classroom and it is very good idea indeed! out of curiosity..how would you ensure that each pupil are able to complete the given task at home? what if some of them do not have a computer at home? how would you overcome that issue??looking forward for your reply.. 🙂

    • Thanks Faustina for your constructive comment. To ensure each and everyone of them will do your work is a bit challenging though. I did face it during my teaching practice. Don’t you? What I did was I collected all of my pupils’ exercise book and kept in the classroom for tomorrow used. In PL, we are to ensure pupils can complete the task so that they can feel a sense of achievement. It is very important that the task you give them set pitch at their levels and achievable. You can only hope they all will do. For those kids who do not have computer at home, don’t panic about that! What I will do is to use school’s computer lab and bring them there. They do their works, and I read my book. If they have questions, they are free to ask me. Fair?

  2. Good Answer Aaron.. 🙂 seems fair to me.. 😛

  3. Hi Aaron, I’m really impressed by your lesson! Amazing and wonderful ideas from the beginning until the end! Yes I agree with Tina, it’s good that you extend learning beyond the classroom. Erm, it’s the activity a group work? 5 in a group? Is there any particular reason of why you chose to do it in group instead of individual? 🙂

    • Thanks Bee Guat. There is no specific reason at the time I designed the activity to be done in group of 5. I just assume that the class enrolment is 30 pupils. Since you were asking this type of mind-boggling question, I would say that through working in group, pupils are learning how to work as a team. ‘Shy-shy-cat’ pupils will learn from those who are dominating or shall I say advanced learners. From there, I hope they build positive mindset and motivation (If he/she can draw his/her wild self, so can I!) from their friends. But at the same time I will expect them chit-chat about what foods or what alien toys they have at home. That’s the kids’ nature anyway.

Leave a Reply

