A03? We’ve Only Just Began

Just began

 

I would say the song, ‘We’ve Only Just Began’ by Carpenters is kind of metaphor or best to describe my journey of A03. Yeah, we have only just begun as I reflect my ‘voyage’ for A03 by listing out 7 possible items which will ensure an effective student-centred, personalised, higher–order thinking lesson. If the dateline for this assignment is tomorrow, I will die suffocating right at this moment. I am just kidding. Take it easy. (relax-bah) Thank God we still have 2 more weeks to go. I believe the climax of this course is just started. Though we might think this course is going to end soon, I believe that we will never ever reach the destination. So long my eyes can blink; I promise I will never stop learning. My group consist of 6 members. So we divided ourselves into 3 pairs, and each pair has to come out with 3 lesson plans based on the three different situations given. Then what we are going to do next? Show me the torch light so that I will not lost in this journey. Below are 7 possible items which I perceived as my ‘torch light’ to come out with the lessons.

7 possible items are (in no particular order):

1. Specific

In this item, I need to really think about the general and specific objectives of the lessons. During our group previous discussion on A03 with Ms. Ng, I could hear she keep saying, ‘You need to explain more (x3), you need to justify (x3)’. Therefore, it is very vital for me and my partner to take note on this. Always keep this question on my mind, ‘What is the rationale behind this activity?’

2. Measurable

Be careful if you were to interpret this item literally. It does not mean to measure pupils’ height or weight. In this item, what I can ask myself is, ‘How does this activity help pupils to acquire the objectives of this lesson?’ Hence, I will concern on the quality of inputs given to pupils. Do I choose the right tool for this particular lesson?

3. Achievable

It is another possible item that I think would help me in planning my lesson. I need to ensure that the activities are achievable, so that pupils feel a sense of achievement. What can I do is to select material that is motivating and within the capability of pupils. As far as possible, I will try to relate material to the pupils’ interests and life.

4. Realistic

In this item, I have to carefully examine whether the ICT tool chosen is realistic to be used or not. For example, I am not going to use Build your Wildself to ask pupils to design a costume related to the topic, ‘Culture and Tradition’. Not only irrelevant, but also will kill pupils’ imagination straight away.

5. Time

Talking about time, I need to take consideration about the timing of activities. What can I ask myself is, ‘How much time is available?’ If I overlook on this item, I might be facing the problem like either pupils do not have time to accomplish the task given, or pupils finish the task earlier and got nothing to do.

6. Feedback

For feedback, perhaps what can I ask myself is, ‘How do I correct errors and answer request for clarification?’ It is not all about giving feedback to pupils, but rather we as a team can evaluate by the end of the lesson what are the things that can further improve in our lesson.

7. Fun

To ensure an effective student-centred, personalised, higher–order thinking lesson, I would think that fun is an item that cannot be neglected. For this item, we will ensure that the activities are varied such as games, story-telling, miming, song, and so on. Instilling fun element in our lesson, I believe that learning will take place much easier and pupils feel motivated to learn.


Perhaps my seven possible items might redundant to each other, but I hope that with these 7 items listed, it will somehow serve as a guideline for me to examine once again the direction of the lesson plans. I end this entry by quoting what Professor Moses said during Future Studies class. I feel the quotation sum up 7 items listed above in a very succinct way. The fundamental role as a teacher is to create an environment where active learning can take place. Sometimes we will miss out the largest scope if we were to focus too much on the details in our life. Do you get me?

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on March 25, 2011, in My ICT Diary Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. priyatharisini

    Hi aaron-my group mate..haha..a very consice and precise entry on your 7 items.I feel that they were all kind of relevant, meaningful and practical too:D Well done! i personally like the last item on Fun-“an item that cannot be neglected” like you have said..I believe that young learners are seeking “fun” in every aspect of their lives haha…so, i believe that ‘injecting’ the element of fun in the activities such as incorporating interesting games, catchy chants and songs,creative stories will definitely enhance the whole learning process and like u have mentioned earlier it will definitely make learning easy thus motivating the pupils to learn further.You have a good point there aaron!All the best ya!We can do it!!

  2. “The fundamental role as a teacher is to create an environment where active learning can take place.”

    i like the quote. active learning should also be meaningful learning.

    visit my latest entry here-http://isaacismael20.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/journey-of-completing-a03you-asked-for-it/

Leave a Reply

