Can do statements

Which step

1. I can recognise the need for progression and development in pupil’s learning.

2. I can define clear objectives of my lesson.

3. I can define my pupil’s needs and interests.

4. I can plan a lesson related to my pupil’s needs and interests.

5. I can adapt and develop materials for the need of my class.

6. I can use my teaching time efficiently.

7. I can use various interaction patterns in class to encourage optimum individual learning.

8. I can balance teacher input and pupil activity.

9. I can organise a student-centred classroom.

10. I can exploit opportunities for learning beyond the classroom.

11. I can use a variety of teaching techniques and strategies.

12. I can use spoken words to encourage learning.

13. I can encourage learning by using adequate body language, e.g. eye contact, proximity, gestures, posture, etc.

14. I can explain instructions clearly.

15. I can check if my pupils understand my instructions.

16. I can use effectively group discussion.

17. I can provide opportunities for my pupils to speak.

18. I can use concept checking questions.

19. I can reflect and act upon my pupil’s responses.

20. I can control my class using a wide range of methods.

21. I can anticipate problems in the classroom.

22. I can handle unforeseen problems.

23. I can use sanctions and rewards.

24. I can present material in a lively and attractive manner.

25. I can be flexible and change my lesson plan to respond to my pupil’s reactions.

26. I can balance my input and pupil’s activity.

27. I can inform my pupils of the lesson aims before we start the lesson.

28. I can encourage my pupils to be more autonomous learners.

29. I can promote learning beyond the classroom.

30. I can create classroom displays in order to support learning.

31. I can use the blackboard competently.

32. I can share supplementary materials with my colleagues.

33. I can use the Internet to look for and create supplementary materials.

34. I can involve my children in creating supplementary materials.

35. I can use other subject areas as language resources.

36. I can relate present knowledge of my pupils to new material.

37. I can use various techniques to elicit knowledge from my pupils.

38. I can assess my pupils informally.

39. I can assess my pupils formally.

40. I can provide a detailed profile of each pupil’s learning.

41. I can monitor my pupil’s progress by using problem solving and role play.

42. I can monitor my pupil’s progress by using presentations.

43. I can monitor my pupil’s progress by using self and peer assessment.

44. I can create follow-up activities based on my pupil’s performance.

45. I can identify potential of exams to provide feedback or feedforward on teaching.

46. I can balance learning needs with exam requirements.

47. I can teach towards exams and extend pupils abilities, knowledge and understanding.

48. I can use test results to inform and improve teaching.

49. I can reflect and act upon experience in the classroom.

50. I can use various teaching techniques to develop pupil’s listening skills.

51. I can use various teaching techniques to develop pupil’s reading skills.

52. I can use various teaching techniques to develop pupil’s writing skills.

53. I can use various teaching techniques to develop pupil’s speaking skills.

54. I can use various teaching techniques to develop pupil’s phonological awareness.

55. I can use different ways of introducing stories to motivate my learners.

56. I can use my language art lessons as a means of consolidating pupil’s knowledge.

57. I can use songs, rhythms and chants in various ways to motivate my pupils.

What is your response?

Yes, I am confident I can do that.

I’m not so sure I can do that. I need some support.

No, I have never done that.

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on November 5, 2012, in My Job. My life., Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

