Feast of Saint Ignatius of Loyola

Today is the Feast of Saint Ignatius of Loyola. Therefore, I would like to dedicate this entry to Saint Ignatius of Loyola.

St. Ignatius of Loyola

Dear St Ignatius, ask God to help me pray with sincere faith this prayer you used to pray:

“Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory, also my understanding and all my will. Everything I have and possess You have given me with love. All the gifts You have given me I gratefully return to You. Do with them, Lord, whatever You will. Give me only Your love and Your grace. This is enough for me, and nothing more will I ask. Amen.”

A treasure buried in a field, a pearl of great price. When we discover the kingdom of heaven (of God) as a great treasure or as a pearl of great price, we will not have to be told to renounce what we have to obtain it. The kingdom of God will be so attractive that we will joyfully give up everything just to get it.

This was the response of St. Ignatius of Loyola to God who attracted him and won him over as he was recuperating from a broken leg. He abandoned his earthly ambitions and single-mindedly sought God. He later said that should the Society of Jesus ( which he founded and was dearer to him than life itself) be disbanded, he would need only a few moments of prayer to regain his composure. That was because what mattered to him was the will or rule of God.

When God is your all-sufficient all, you will gladly let go of anything.

About C.K. Aaron

Engineer of human souls or I'd rather be called a lifelong-learner. I am Phleg-Mel. Docendo disco, scribendo cogito.I feel content with a good book and a cup of coffee.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Discernment, Inspirations, Journey of Faith. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

